Souvenirs from Iceland

I know some travelers don’t believe in spending money on souvenirs, but I’m the complete opposite. I love having some sort of small token to remember my trip by. Below are some awesome and unique finds from my trip to Iceland.

iceland.jpg
Gullfoss Waterfall
  • Icelandic Wool: Icelandic wool is an amazing fabric that keeps you warm and is self-cleaning. Almost, all of the shops I visited had gorgeous scarves and sweaters knitted with the wool in unique fair isle designs and fun animal prints. I picked up some items with a puffin print for back home at The Handknitting Association of Iceland in downtown Reykjavik. Be warned: it is pricey.

puffin

  • Lava Jewelry: With so much volcanic activity in Iceland, it’s no wonder they’ve managed to create jewelry using lava. Pick up some gorgeous earrings or a necklace with jewelry made from volcanic rock. I prefer the look of the smooth lava rocks compared to the rough ones as they look like black pearls.

https://i0.wp.com/lavadesign.is/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/3001-300x300.jpg

  • Icelandic Memories Magnets: I love these sheep magnets made from the wool of Icelandic sheep. They’re handmade by a local artist, and I saw them in a bunch of different places. They are a little bit pricey, but you can shop around to find the lowest price: They also come in array of colors, but I like the basic white and black sheep.

sheep magnet

Do you purchase souvenirs while on vacation?

As always, Happy Shopping!

-C

Leave a Reply

